|
Access to these resources is available off campus to all current students,
faculty and staff. Please click
here for instructions on logging in to the Ocean Cruiser to access the resources
off campus.
| Title |
Description & Contents |
| Academic Search Premier |
Suitable for all classes; Contains professional journals as well as
popular magazines. While the majority of sources are Full Text, some articles
have only abstracts available. |
| CQ Researcher |
Suitable for all classes; Contains Full Text articles on current issues
in society & politics |
| CINAHL |
Suitable for Nursing & Health classes; contains abstracts of professional
nursing journals. While the articles in this databases are not Full Text,
if the Full Text is available in another database, a link will be provided. |
| Current Biography |
Suitable for all classes. Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more
than 111,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 32,000 photographs
of the subjects. It also contains the full text of the articles from more
than 100 volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson,
including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography,
the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World
Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers,
and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers from throughout
history. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place
of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date
of death, keyword, and presence of images. |
| Encyclopedia Britannica |
Suitable for general reference and research. Encyclopædia
Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica
Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can
also use Encyclopædia Britannica Online to search an Internet
directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected,
rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. |
| ERIC |
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national
clearinghouse for educational research materials supported by the
U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education,
and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides
access to information from journals included in the Current Index
of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. |
| Health Source/Nursing Academic Edition |
Suitable for Nursing Program students. Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including
nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.
|
| Lexis Nexis |
Suitable for all classes, very useful for legal classes. LexisNexis®
Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum
of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to
meet academic research needs, including:
- National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast
transcripts, international news
- U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal
news, law reviews, and international legal information
- Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court
cases back to 1789
- Business news journals, company financial information, SEC
filings and reports, and industry and market news
|
| Literature Resource Center |
Suitable for all English classes. Access biographies, bibliographies,
and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age
and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20
page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres
drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US,
and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently
used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English
authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles |
| New York Times |
Offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times
dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital
reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in
downloadable PDF® files. |
| Oxford English Dictionary |
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition,
first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series,
published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). |
| Opposing Viewpoints |
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues
series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference
content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide
a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access
viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
|
| SIRS Government Reporter |
Full text U.S. government agencies documents |
| SIRS Researcher |
Full text articles & documents on current issues and general topics |
| U.S. Government Documents Catalog |
Online catalog for U.S. government documents |
|